Landon’s Elmo Cupcakes

I can’t believe my baby is turning 3! I feel like I was just making his Mickey Mouse cake but I guess that was a year ago. I was excited when Landon asked for Elmo cupcakes. I’ve been a huge Elmo fan for years. I’ve done a few Elmo cupcake cakes but these were my first individual Elmo cupcakes and the first Elmo treat for one of my own kids. They were a lot of fun and really easy. The eyes, nose and mouth were made of royal icing. Royal icing decorations are one of my favorite things to make. I always make them a day early to give them plenty of time to dry and then they easily peel off of wax paper without breaking. I did not make red icing for the fur because making red icing is one of the worst baking/decorating experiences ever. Instead, I used Wilton’s Color Mist which is so much faster and easier.  Just pipe on white icing, put on some gloves and spray away. (And they looked more red in person.)

Landon was so happy when he saw the finished product. I’ll make anything he asks for just to hear him say, “Thank you, mommy!” I love this birthday kid.

Leave a Reply

